Sijil Kemahiran Malaysia (1-5)

There are five (5) levels in the Malaysian Skills Certification System (MSCS) as follows:


The Malaysian Skills Certificate (SKM), Malaysian Skills Diploma (DKM) and Malaysian Skills Advanced Diploma (DLKM) are implemented based on the National Occupational Skills Standard (NOSS) which are established by the Department of Skills Development under the purview of the Ministry of Human Resources.

The SKM is a formal nationally recognized certificate issued by the Government to individuals who have shown capabilities that are required or practiced and been equipped with competencies to perform tasks and functions for gainful employment.

The SKM has been adopted in the 10th Malaysia Plan as the single Skills / Vocational Certification for the country. Today, Public Service Department of Malaysia had recognised and approved 13 schemes of services for skilled position in civil services.

To enhance the recognition of skills qualification, the SKM will become a mandatory qualification to specific and selected jobs.


The certification can be earned through:

Entry Requirements For Malaysian Skills Certification

To qualify for the Malaysian Skills Certification programme in recognised training institutes, candidates must meet the following requirements:

  • Able to speak and write in Malay or English
  • Posses a lower level of MSC to apply for a higher level MSC in the same field / area.
  • Fulfill additional requirements, as specified by the relevant NOSS, if any; AND
  • Other specific requirements by accredited centres.

How to Apply?

Recruitment is open twice a year (January and July intake) via UPU online application:

Skill Training Pathway
Skills Training Pathway