Malaysian Skills Certificate (SKM)

Malaysian Skills Certification (SKM)

Malaysian Skills Certification is one of the main functions of the DSD. This certification offers five (5) levels of authentication:

hand icon Malaysian Skills Certificate (SKM) Level 1

hand icon Malaysian Skills Certificate (SKM) Level 2

hand icon Malaysian Skills Certificate (SKM) Level 3

hand icon Diploma in Skills Malaysia (DKM) Level 4

hand icon Advanced Diploma Skills Malaysia (DLKM) Level 5

The Malaysian Skills Certification may be obtained through by three (3) methods : 

1. Through Training in a Recognised Institution
Through training programmes at JPK accredited centres for specific fields and skill levels that have been accredited.

2. Through Industry-Oriented Training (SLDN) 
Through apprenticeship with the National DualTraining System (SLDN) conducted by industries and skills training institutes. 

3.Through Accreditation of Prior Achievement (PPT)
Obtaining the Malaysian Skills Certification through past experience (work or training). The candidate is required to submit proof of his skills competency which will be assessed by the Assessing Officer and approved by the External Verification Officer appointed by JPK.

Candidates may refer to the List of Accreditation Centres in this web site to obtain information regarding accredited centres and the latest skills programmes recognised by the DSD.


Benefits of the Malaysian Skills Certification

yes The Skills Certification Programme is recognised by industry in Malaysia
yes Malaysian Skills Certification Programme provides an attractive career path and personal growth opportunity for participants and is comparable to a career choice based on academic qualifications.
yes Malaysian Skills Certification Programme is able to produce skilled workers who are trained and qualified to enhance the competiveness of local industries in the global market.
Eligibility Requirements for Malaysian Skills Certification
The minimum requirements for candidates to join the Malaysian Skills Certification Accreditation Method training through a recognized Training Institute are: 

yes Ability to speak and write in both Bahasa Melayu and English.
yes Must have passed a lower SKM level before signing up for a higher SKM level in the same field.

(*However, the Accreditation Centre may prescribe other conditions for its trainees)
We use cookies to improve our website. By continuing to use this website, you are giving consent to cookies being used. More details…